I read on Apartment Therapy today that San Francisco is hosting the National Convention of the American Institute of Architects this month. As a result, Architectural Record magazine has created a video series with local architects talking about their favorite buildings in the city. Check it out here.

What surprised me was that I had never even noticed some of these buildings before. Take, for example, the Modernist building at 675 California – so easily missed and yet, as Don Rudy, president of the SF chapter of the AIA, says, it’s a feat of simplicity and elegance. Then there’s the Swedenborgian Church, which I had never even heard of but will definitely be checking out. Picture via AT.

Swedenborgian Church

One of my personal favorites is the Ferry Building. I’ve been there lots of times and always thought it has a really great atmosphere (which I had put down to the dozens of retail outlets selling delicious cheeses, fish, chocolates…yum…). But I had never really looked up at the structure before and it’s quite stunning.

Ferry Building

The videos also include one on the Federal Building completed in 2007. I watched this building being built, always wondering quite what to make of it. It really is the most extraordinary structure. But, close up, as in this video, it’s actually rather appealing.

Federal Building

Nothing on the de Young Museum though. Or the new Jewish Contemporary Museum (below) – both of which I think are pretty spectacular.

Jewish Contemporary Museum

