If you hanker after a state-of-the-art home with your own theater, TVs that rise out of the floor and centrally-controlled lights, then here’s some eye candy for you. Electronic House magazine has just announced its Home of the Year.

The gold winner is just a cozy pied-à-terre in LA…

Home of the year - gold

Ah, a triceratops skull. Just the accessory I need for my living room!

Home of the year - gold

Now, that’s a bathroom with a view.

Home of the year - gold

Here’s the silver prize winner – a Manhattan penthouse.

Home of the Year - silver

And look at the home theater in the house that won bronze. That’s a theater?! Where do I lie with my bowl of chocolate ice-cream?

Home of the Year - bronze

These are all stunning homes. Of course, I wouldn’t turn down the chance to live in one of them. But, you know, after the excitement of being able to control everything at the touch of a button, I think I would get a bit tired of the extreme convenience of it all. I secretly quite like the slightly chipped paint and the faded squashy sofa in our house. At least I can eat ice-cream without worrying about spills. And there are no triceratops…

What do you think? Would you love to live here, or are you more of a squashy sofa type too?

