I was in Seattle yesterday and, while waiting at the airport for my flight home, I picked up a copy of Seattle Homes. I was pleasantly surprised to find this stunning and unusual home inside. I like North West style with all its drama and outdoorsy-ness. This home evokes some of that same spirit, but is made entirely of concrete, cedar wood and glass.

The amazing thing is that the house was built on an incredibly narrow, steep lot. Getting natural light into it was a huge challenge. But, somehow, they managed it and the result is really beautiful. Quite a feat for a concrete building!

Seattle house

Seattle house

Seattle house

Seattle house

The architects were Hutchison & Maul Architecture – their site has lots of other equally light-filled contemporary homes so well worth a peek. The photos are by Alex Hayden.

