I am definitely not into camping. I mean, I like the idea of it – sleeping under the stars, drinking wine by the campfire (I know, the ‘wine’ part kind of defeats the object). But it’s the reality that I can’t handle – scrabbling around in the dark for a flashlight, ducking as we’re dive-bombed by mosquitoes. And don’t even mention the bathroom issue.

So the idea of ‘glamping’ (glamorous camping) has its appeal. Unfortunately, ‘glamping’ usually means forking out a small fortune for a luxury safari vacation in Kenya or India. But now it seems that a more recession-friendly form is emerging, aided by the arrival of some very sweet designer tents. I’m thinking these would be perfect for a picnic in the countryside or a tea party in the backyard: get the rustic experience for a few hours then head home for a nice warm bath and proper bed. Now that’s my idea of camping!

This one’s from Laura Ashley via MyDeco.

Laura Ashley tent

This is a fairly sizeable tent so not your average ‘pitch and pull-down in a day’ affair. But I like the interior – very cute. Via Country Living.

Tent

This is the new teepee from Cath Kidston.

Cath Kidston tent

Alright, this is barely a tent. You could just about sit in there to read a book. But it’s too cute not to post. Via LivingEtc.

Tent

