Encouraged by the success of the zigzag rug in our playroom/little sitting room, I’ve finally chosen a rug for our living room. I went for the Zebra rug from West Elm in espresso and ivory. It’s a little smaller than I would have liked but, as standard sizes go, it’s not too bad.

Living room Zebra rug

The room really needed some pattern and something dark to anchor it. But I’m now a bit concerned that the mantelpiece looks too bare or ‘staged’. I’d prefer to prop the mirror up against the chimney so it looks more casual, but, with an energetic toddler in the house, the thought of it crashing to the floor is just, well, let’s not think about it…

I was inspired in part by this image of stylist and blogger Erin Gates’ house, via Style Carrot. We have similar colors, artwork and textiles in our house so I guess I’m not surprised I loved her choice of flooring.

Erin Gates

Anyway, hopefully this will satisfy my craving for graphic patterned rugs since any more of them might start to look a bit repetitive!

