I mentioned a few weeks ago that we were getting a new fireplace installed in our living room. Well, it ended up not exactly being a whole new fireplace, just a gas insert with logs. I know it’s not the same as a real wood-burning fire but it’s easier, cleaner, safer and slightly greener so worth doing. While we’re still all feeling relatively festive, I thought I’d share a picture of how it turned out.

Cozy huh? I must admit we used it far more than strictly necessary over Christmas. But there’s something so comforting about sitting around a fire in the evening with the family that we couldn’t resist. I haven’t posted much about our Christmas decorations, and now it’s too late, but needless to say, this was the major feature. Oh, and our gold and silver Christmas tree which just gets better every year as we add more ornaments (bought, bestowed and home-made by our toddler)…

The British tradition is to keep the decorations up until Twelfth Night (January 6th), so, as a committed fan of Christmas, that’s just what I’ll be doing. I promise not to keep posting about it though…

