I’ve been drawn to a lot of spaces with stunning ethnic rugs recently. I’ve never been into the ‘global’ style but I’m beginning to think I could change my mind. There are so many options, from Mexican to Turkish to Asian rugs, and they give a room such a sense of character and history. Of course the major obstacle to buying one has been price. But now that more stores are carrying affordable versions, it’s starting to become an option.

First up, this stunning pink, blue and gray rug spotted on Slipcover Your Life.

My sister sent me this picture. I don’t know the source but I love the colors and the impact of this pink and orange rug.

Patterned rugs don’t have to be bright colors either. I love the soft blue-grays in this image. Photo by Patric Johansson.

Every stone floor should have a rug like this. Via House of Turquoise.

This one looks bang up to date with crisp black and white. Via Desire to Inspire.

Neutral room + amazing rug = effortless style. Via Design Evolution.

Even in a small room, a tiny patterned rug adds character, without being crowded. Via Smart Alec.

Now all I have to do is find one I can afford!

