When I posted about this lovely ocean-front home, one of the aspects I loved about the place most was the use of interesting textiles. Erin over at Slipcover Your Life asked where the Suzani pillows in the living room were from. While I haven’t been able to track down the exact source of the ones in that house, I have been finding numerous examples of rich Suzani embroidery everywhere. Of course, Suzani has been a hot trend for some time now, so it’s hardly a surprise to find that so many retailers have brought out their own versions. But these beautiful textiles still have the ability to inject warmth and personality into a home and, perhaps, will be an enduring feature of design for many years to come.

I’m sure you’ve seen these memorable rooms with Suzani textiles:

Via Decorpad.

Via Canadian House and Home.

Via Elle Decor.

So, now, how to get the look cheaply by adding a pillow or two…

I love these slightly off-center versions from the ever-stunning Graham and Green collection.

UK-based Niki Jones has perhaps my favorite selection of Suzani cushions in off-beat pinks, purples and grays.

For a more traditional look, try Wisteria, which is always good for reasonably-priced ethnic textiles.

This one is from Area Home.

There’s a huge selection of antique textiles form around the world at Tessera. Uzbekistani pillows come in all sorts of colors and designs, like this stunning pink and coral one. The site also has Ikat textiles and pillows from Turkey, Tibet, Peru, India and all over Central Asia.

And, of course, Madeline Weinrib has a selection of attractive Suzani pillows, including more unusual designs like this one.

Anyone else found a good source for these textiles? I don’t currently have a place in my home for a Suzani throw or pillow, but I’m definitely going to try and find a little corner somewhere one of these days…. Perhaps even for outdoor seating when the summer is fully upon us. I’ll keep you posted.

Oh, and by the way, apologies for the cheesy title of this post – I just couldn’t resist!

