Do you keep mental lists of favorite and iconic design pieces? You know, those items that, one day, you’ll have in your dream home? Maybe you’ve even treated yourself to a few of them. But, if you’re like me, the list seems to grow endlessly. So I’m going to try and keep track of them by posting my all-time favorite lists here. First up, ceiling lights.

The Random light by Moooi is a firm favorite. I haven’t found a place for one of these in my home yet – partly because they’re so large. But I love the way this design seems to create order from chaos. Here it is in situ.

Via Fondly Seen.

This Alvar Aalto Golden Bell light has a retro appeal but would fit in so many schemes. This one is actually an updated version by Artek. But the original is forever etched on my mind because of this image from Living Etc many years ago.

Then there’s the Tord Boontje blossom branch chandelier.

Who can forget how great this looked over Gwyneth Paltrow’s dining table (Via Habitually Chic)?

The next one is kind of quirky. The goose feather Pluma Cubic light was designed by Heike Buchfelder in 2003.

I just think this would be great in a bedroom, although cleaning it would probably prove a nightmare! I first saw it in the bedroom of decorator Philip Gorrivan’s daughter, in Elle Decor, where it made a charming feature that was somehow both childlike and grown-up at the same time.

Not all ‘favorites’ have to be expensive designer pieces though. There’s something about an extra long capiz shell chandelier that is romantic and decadent – but this West Elm version is very affordable.

Then there’s the Moravian Star light. These ubiquitous fixtures work for industrial lofts or Victorian houses alike and come in all sorts of finishes. You only have to Google ‘Moravian Star light’ and you’re besieged by hundreds of choices of sites to purchase them.

My first encounter with the Moravian Star light is a bit of a story in its own right. I lived in a hilltop town in Italy for a year from 1994-5 and there were numerous workshops in the villages nearby where artisans made these lights. I had never seen them before and was smitten immediately. I thought about bringing some back to England but never did. Of course, a few years later they started popping up everywhere…

Now here’s a design classic you’ll definitely recognize: the PH Artichoke light by Poul Henningsen 40 years ago.

The Artichoke light is so recognizable that it’s easy to ignore its brilliance. No self-respecting minimalist loft would be seen without one.

Then there’s this chandelier, as seen in designer Fawn Galli‘s dining room.

I love the way it resembles a firework or supernova, adding a burst of energy to a formal dining room arrangement.

Finally, no all-time favorite list of lighting would be complete without a good old fashioned chandelier. I’ve said before how much I love the glamor of a  ceiling light dripping with crystals. But, there’s something even more special about a turquoise chandelier and this one still takes my breath away.

Although this image was all over the blogosphere after being featured on Chinoiserie Chic, I’ve never managed to track down a source for this light. If anyone knows, do tell the rest of us!

I’d love to hear about your favorites too. What would you add to this list?

