It’s no secret that I love inlaid furniture. My ideal bedroom would probably be completely white except for a stand-out dresser in intricate inlay. As it is, I have to make do with my beloved mother-of-pearl inlay mirror… Anyway, I’m always looking for new sources for this type of product so was thrilled to hear from a young firm called Sang and Serena, which imports absolutely beautiful inlay furniture and accessories from Rajasthan.

The site is fun to browse even if you’re not in the market for furniture, in part because of the edgy product shots.

Prices range from $289 for a bone inlay tray to $2799 for a mother-of-pearl dresser. I happen to think it’s worth it because all the pieces display wonderful craftsmanship and would no doubt be future heirlooms.

Best of all, the collection has pieces in four enticingly-named colors: Opium (black), ember (gray), paneer (white) and lotus (pink). Yes, pink! If only I had space for a pink mother-of-pearl inlay dresser!

Of course the big downside of bone inlay furniture specifically is that it’s, well, bone. But this site only has products with bone from camels that have already died of natural causes. If you still don’t like the idea of it, the mother-of-pearl option might be more palatable. Personally, my preference is for mother-of-pearl anyway – I love its opalescence.

This is Sang and Serena’s first collection, so I’m excited to see what comes next. I’m wishing for benches and stools and maybe a range of products in sky blue…

